First Security Certification?

WelshmanWelshman Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Firstly, i've been reading a lot of the threads posted regarding the most popular certifications in this section of the forum and i just wanted to say thank you for being such a great and helpful community.

Although i have a degree in software engineering, this will be my first real foray into direct security.

Im considering either the OSCP or the eLearnSecurity Professional course, then moving onto the OSCP after that. I currently work from my home office so dedicated time would not be a problem. I otherwise can't decide between the two. I'd love to jump in to the OSCP but wanted to get the opinions of some of the members here first.

Cheers gents!

Comments

• ramrunner800ramrunner800 Member Posts: 238
    If you have a good understanding of TCP/IP and the fundamentals of Linux and Windows operating systems then OSCP would be within your reach. It is a highly challenging cert, so prepare yourself. I'm not familiar with any of eLearnSecurity's courses firsthand, so I couldn't speak to that. Most people start with something like Security+ for their first cert, but with a software engineering background you could be able to skip it.
    Currently Studying For: GXPN
  • MSP-ITMSP-IT Member Posts: 752 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Currently in the OSCP, I'd say you'd probably want to start at something a little lower level. Had I done it again, I probably would have gone through eLearn's eCPPT course prior to taking the OSCP.
  • WelshmanWelshman Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for the replies.

Would the ability to work/study full time hours every day towards the OSCP not affect your decision? As for further study, filling in gaps of knowledge and such.
  • ramrunner800ramrunner800 Member Posts: 238
    Welshman wrote: »
    Thanks for the replies.