Options

Considering pursuing the ISSAP and looking for advice

zxbanezxbane Member Posts: 740 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hey all,

I have 7 years of IT experience, 5 of it being directly related to Security/IA. I passed my CISSP November 2013 and then the CISM June 2014 and I was planning to take the CISA in December. However after some thought, I don't do much auditing work and since I am in the process of moving to accept a new job I need an exam that will offer some more flexibility as far as scheduling the exam goes.

I looked into the CISSP concentrations and the ISSAP seems to interest me the most (although I might pursue the ISSEP eventually since I work for DoD and the ISSEP would have a lot of relevance but I am waiting for updated materials to come out).

As far as the ISSAP goes I am looking for advice on how to approach the exam and any tips that might help, specifically from those who have taken it recently since the updated materials have come out. I have purchased the new edition of the ISSAP CBK and am excited to start reading it and I am also watching the ISSAP 2013 course on FedVTE for those familiar with that. I was planning to also re-read Conrad's 11th hour in an attempt to refresh on CISSP concepts as well. Any other recommendations or useful advice would be greatly appreciated, I would really like to be successful in this pursuit and to expand my knowledge as well!

As always, thanks to everyone on TE for all the help, this community has been critical in my success with the CISSP, CISM, and CCNA due to the wealth of knowledge here.

Comments

• Options
    GarudaMinGarudaMin Member Posts: 204