Not sure what to do

IlikecoffeeIlikecoffee Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all bit about me:
  • Worked in IT since 2006 in England with a year in NYC working as PMO Analyst
  • I have a BSc in Networks/IT and post grad certificate in business administration
  • Certs: MCSA W7, MOS 07 MASTER, ITIL Fnd, Prince 2 Fnd, SDI: Service Desk Analyst
  • I have had 7 IT jobs working in Schools jack of all trades, an investment bank, a heating company and now local government for 3 years.
  • My current job is Service Desk / Desktop support but I have domain admin rights and generally we can do 1st -3rd line
  • I have now lost all motivation for IT and my job. There is no career here and its just generally bad! Plus no learning etc. Forced to travel far, cover bad shift and boring people (sit in silence all day) I am bored and am becoming pigeon holed. The money is not great with just enough to cover my mortgage. 25k 30 days leave - benefits are 'goodish'.
  • Before you say get another job I have had a few interviews but I am looking at a short sabbatical next year as my GF and myself wish to travel for a few months. My job may allow me to have this.
I want to earn good money, be challenged and develop my career so it doesn't feel like I am contributing nothing to society. Maybe get into management. I am looking to study by building on what I have already and between now - summer next year so I can push my career ahead.

I am not particularly in love with ICT or interested in any one area and I do not want to retrain but I want to future proof and increase earning potential. My area is not great for jobs and I don't want to move. My job may pay for some exams and I have access to pluralsight. What do you recommend?

I was thinking of maybe these: CCENT, MCSA W8, MCSA 2012

Comments

• tkerbertkerber Member Posts: 223
    Well my biggest question is if you've worked in IT for 8 years, how are you still in Service Desk?