Would CCNA make me more valuable then a Linux or MCSA certification

Treylmoore83Treylmoore83 Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am trying to become more unique and marketable as a IT candidate. Feels as if the MS windows market is flooded with options and doesn't get you recognized as much these days around Texas. I don't know how accurate that is, but it's my opinion and I feel strongest at microsoft products. Trying to be non help desk and level 1 or 2 call center anymore in IT. I have some interest in Cisco and it would be cool to say I'm a network engineer one day. I run linux on my pcs at home, well linux mint 17 and fedora. Had planned to be a server administrator or work in web programming role was my first IT dream but I don't know if that's me anymore. In linux I had tried to get a bit into PHP and Python but as far as languages I get HTML, XML and Working with CSS. Of those who work in a Cisco, maybe even Juniper or Linux field explain key things needed for you to get employed. As far as time wise which certification program would be longer to achieve and be a pro at? Command line Cisco seems easier to pick up then linux command line because linux seems very much hardcore user type for super techies and maybe because I have been in Microsoft world and find it easier with a touch of idea of Cisco like wanting the Cisco Ccna data center very too maybe making me not learn linux as easily because my heart is torn. With some direction from you guys out here I hope I can get on a career track to be more unique and valued on the job market in Texas or looking into Arizona as well maybe Chicago. Please give me as much detail as possible in your explanations?

Comments

• VeritiesVerities Member Posts: 1,162
    I think you are asking some good questions. I'll do my best to answer them based on my experiences.