Best IT Certifications for a CPA (Certified Public Accountant)

CPACPA Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am a CPA and plan to take the CISA (Certified Information Systems Auditor) exam this winter.

What additional certifications might be good?
Plans for 2014-2015: CISA [2014]

Comments

• ajs1976ajs1976 Member Posts: 1,945 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Basing this on my experience with some auditors that were more business then IT.

Security+ - fundamentals for information security

Something that covers Active Directory and Windows server basics - maybe not the entire MCSA 2012, but maybe exams 410 & 411.

Fundamentals of networking. Maybe the Network+ or CCENT. If you want to get more technical then the CCNA and / or CCNA: Security.
    Andy

2020 Goals: 0 of 2 courses complete, 0 of 2 exams complete
  • N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    You named the one I was going to recommend. My friend who has been a CPA for ~10 years is going for his CISA. I wish I had more information for you but good luck on the CISA!
  • CPACPA Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for the replies.

After I take the CISA, I was thinking about trying for a SQL certification, but which one?

Also, how useful is Linux+ certification for business professionals?
  • GoodBishopGoodBishop Member Posts: 359 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Take a look at the CITP (from the AICPA), the CGEIT, the CRISC, and the CISSP.
  • Hammer80Hammer80 Member Posts: 207 ■■■□□□□□□□
    To tell you the truth once you have a CPA and a CISA the only other certification I would be looking at is a non-technical which is CIA - Certified Internal Auditor, once you have those three you can call it a day and you can start applying to one of the Big Four accounting firms which are desperate for folks with a CISA. In your position any technical certifications you earn will be purely for your own self education and ability to communicate with IT folks but will not have very much career payoff financially.