Late 30s, career change, want to get certified, too late?

jgoffe10jgoffe10 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

My bachelor's in MIS is 13 years old and I have minimal IT experience. I've been stuck in customer service for too long. I self-taught most of my IT background by troubleshooting my own PC issues, built a couple PCs, etc, i'm the family geek, etc. I have a true passion for IT. I recently started studying for A+, most of it I know already, but considering I'm almost 40, is it too late? My goal is to be in an IT position earning $60k+ in a year or 2. Not sure yet which route I want to go - networking, security, microsoft, etc. Any advice from the experts?

Thanks,
Jeremy

Comments

• stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
    First, it is never too late. Second, get a few certs to go with your MIS and you'll be well on your way. What type of customer service have you been involved in? IT related? I'm 43 and started my professional IT career two years ago, so you can do it. As for the pay you'd like to make, that will depend a lot on the area you live in and what certs/experience you have. I started at $31k and after a year and a half (took six months to find a job), I am at roughly $40k...for my full-time job. So, it is doable within five years, I'm sure.
    The easiest thing to be in the world is you. The most difficult thing to be is what other people want you to be. Don't let them put you in that position. ~ Leo Buscaglia

Connect With Me || My Blog Site || Follow Me
  • moe12moe12 Member Posts: 65 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Never to late!
  • jgoffe10jgoffe10 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□