Options

I have a question about using putty to config a router.

Night GoatNight Goat Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone, this is my first post and I am not too sure if this is the right sub-forum for this question or not. I have managed to find a good deal on a CCNA lab kit that included 3 1841s with the dual serial WIC cards and IOS 15, two 2950s and a 3550 along with a bunch of straight through, crossover, and rollover cables as well as a rack all for under $300 and all in excellent, like new condition.

My problem is that when I try to connect to a router using an old PC that is running Lubuntu 14.4 via putty, I get a message saying "putty cant open serial port". I am new to Linux but I am fairly decent with the CLI but I am not sure how to find my serial port info. I ran dmesg command and I am not entirely sure if the info is in the output since I don't really know what I am looking for and even if I did I am not sure how to fix this problem. Does anyone have any solution or a starting point?

Edit: I also made sure the cable is in the console port of the router and that the serial cable is properly attached to the pc so this is not the problem.

Comments

• Options
    davenulldavenull Member Posts: 173 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I used minicom instead of putty on my arch linux laptop, see if it works for you. Look here for clues:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Working_with_the_serial_console#Making_Connections

Edit: also, kde terminal is fantastic with GNS3, supports multitabbing and there's an option to send the command you are typing to multiple tabs at the same time.
  • Options
    EdTheLadEdTheLad Member Posts: 2,111 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Assuming your cable is correct and you have a built in serial port i.e. no serial usb adapter with driver issues.