F5 BIG-IP Virtual Edition

OfWolfAndManOfWolfAndMan Member Posts: 923 ■■■■□□□□□□
Just came across this:

BIG-IP Virtual Edition - license - F5-BIG-VE-LAB - Network Management Software - CDW.com

I am new to F5 BIG-IP, but I would like to get a little hands on in a home lab. Anyone had any experience with this, and if so, what was the virtualization software you used? I have an account with F5 and have started their LTM course. Would this be overkill, or is it worth it?
:study:Reading: Lab Books, Ansible Documentation, Python Cookbook 2018 Goals: More Ansible/Python work for Automation, IPSpace Automation Course [X], Build Jenkins Framework for Network Automation []

Comments

• joelsfoodjoelsfood Member Posts: 1,027 ■■■■■■□□□□
    You can get the trial edition free for 90 days and then decide if it's worth the $97
    https://www.f5.com/trial/big-ip-ltm-virtual-edition.php
  • apr911apr911 Member Posts: 380 ■■■■□□□□□□
    As already noted by joelsfood, you can get the trial edition free for 90 days but you can also then renew it every 90 days.

F5 even allows you to request up to 4 keys at once (and the 90 day count doesnt start until the key is activated/used) and you can return to request more later if want.

The Trial version is probably best for your lab. The Licensed Virtual Edition provides the following functions that you dont get with the Trial version:

1. The ability to obtain F5 support (though a support contract is still required).
    2. Full device throughput. While the trial edition LTM is full featured, many of the features have limited throughput or connection limits (i.e. the throughput is limited to 1Mbps)
    3. Modules other than LTM (F5 does offer 30 day trials for other modules but I dont know if you can continually renew them and you have to contact F5 sales to get them which may or may not be more hassle than its worth)