Possible move to Help Desk Supervisor

Hi guys and gals, Right now I'm a Level 2 tech. During my mid year review last week, my boss mentioned that a change might be coming at our Service Desk Supervisor and he thought of me moving into the role. Well the change happened very quickly like yesterday and I have a sit down with my boss to discuss the opening on Thursday.

My ultimate goal is IT management, my boss is VP of IT & Infrastructure Operations at a 7 billion dollar bank, he thinks is a good move and natural progression for where I want to go. I'm just scared that it could be a dead end , just like long term help desk level 1 jobs, albeit I will be a supervisor of 5 service desk techs and would help with Level 2 day to day operations.

I always thought I would get more technical experience to get a management job, just got CCENT and currently studying CCNA.

Your thought?
Identity & Access Manager // B.A - Marshall University 2005

Comments

• lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
    That's a tough one. It is a potential right step in the management direction, but it would probably cut into your technical route and could very well be a trap. I'm sure there's other people here who have managed HD's who can comment, but I would personally avoid this like the plague. Nearly every HD Manager I've come across ends up burning out because they are essentially baby sitters and take the brunt of user complaints.
  • NersesianNersesian Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 96 ■■□□□□□□□□