Options

What happens when recruiters find or apply for the same job postings you do?

mxmaniacmxmaniac Member Posts: 49 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm brand new to job searching in the IT field, trying to to get my foot in the door at an entry level position.

My first step was that I contacted a number of recruiters, figured I'd have some people helping with my search, while I continue it on my own. I also figured maybe they would have access to unadvertised positions, ones which just come available and get filled quick before being posted on line.

What I'm finding so far though, is that I seem to be one step ahead of the recruiters. So far the only jobs they have pointed out to me, are ones I had already seen publicly posted on the web, and had already located myself about 2 days prior.

I vaguely remember hearing that there could be some conflict if applying direct to a position a recruiter applies to as well, but what exactly happens?

And what happens if I find a lead, but then before I have a chance to follow up on it, it gets pointed out by a recruiter. Then say I tell the recruiter no, but apply myself, can they try to claim they had some responsibility for it and create some conflict of interest?

I'm under the impression that if applying direct, I can earn a better wage since there is no recruiter fee involved, so I wouldn't want to use a recruiter for applying for a publicly posted job I already know about, I'd only want to use them for any unposted insider leads they have.

Comments

• Options
    MeanDrunkR2D2MeanDrunkR2D2 Member Posts: 899 ■■■■■□□□□□