How much CCNP is covered in CCIE?

quirMquirM Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
A little about myself, I'm 21 studying at university "ICT (network design & security)" and one of our core unit is CCNA we currently have access to real cisco switching and routing equipment for our labs and to have a play around with. We're almost completed the last competency for CCNA-4.

I'd like to know if CCNP is truly a stepping stone for CCIE? I've got friends of mine that's studying for CCIE when they only have CCNA. (same position as me)

I'm not quiet sure if I should be jumping to CCIE straight away knowing that it will be harder to grasp, but certainly worth it (in my eyes) currently I'm studying relevant enterprise modules and passing my skills/written and online chapters with ease and have a passion to start CCIE knowing that I will be working with Cisco equipment in the future.

I just need your feedback on this, is it a good idea to start CCIE with only CCNA + bachelor degree? Why and why not ?

Cheers,

Comments

• fredrikjjfredrikjj Member Posts: 879
    Pretty much 100% of the topics in CCNP:RS are in CCIE:RS, making CCNP a subset of CCIE. However, you don't need to go as deep. You could study for the CCIE and then just take the CCNP exams once you've covered those topics (layer 2, the routing protocols, some tcp/ip theory, etc). I personally think that it's pointless because you gain very little from that approach and you risk giving up because the material feels too difficult. At least in my case, it felt good knowing that what I needed to know for each CCNP exam was all in one book, and that allowed me to study the hell out of those books without getting distracted.

However, I would add a TCP/IP book to your CCNP studies. Comer's Internetworking with TCP/IP is pretty good and it will give you some important pieces of information that is mostly absent from the cert guides.
  • quirMquirM Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□