Which Distro for me?

jem7skjem7sk Member Posts: 77 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am a System Admin who has worked in a Windows/Cisco environment for the past 16 years and am looking to make the jump to Linux. I have used Ubuntu (didn't like it) and Mint (wasn't bad) in the past but didn't get to know it well and just used it like a typical, non-technical person would use windows. I really don't have any hardcore experience with Linux and want to eventually become a Linux Admin. I am studying for Cisco certs now but when finished I want to get some Linux certs. From all I have read here Red Hat is the way to go. It seems there are three flavors of Red Hat that are free: Fedora, openSuse and CentOS. I just bought a new laptop and want to put a Linux Distro on my old laptop and get to know Linux very well. Should I use one of these three distros or another? Which one of these three should I use if they are the ones to use?

Comments

• the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I'd go with CentOS if you want to go the Red Hat route at some point.
    WIP:
    PHP
    Kotlin
    Intro to Discrete Math
    Programming Languages
    Work stuff
  • darkerosxxdarkerosxx Banned Posts: 1,343
    CentOS. Suse is not Red Hat, BTW... what I would suggest is starting out doing everything at the command line, even if you install a GUI version of Linux. If you need any help or have any questions, this forum is a perfect place to ask.
  • jem7skjem7sk Member Posts: 77 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Thanks guys... I'll have to get CentOS on it and get started this afternoon. Any tips/resources for learning it the fastest way possible? I will use the terminal/command line as much as I can. That is one thing I love about linux. Go to a command line to install a program and it is done in a few seconds.
  • brownwrapbrownwrap Member Posts: 549
    I was going to say the same the about open Suse, but maybe the confusion is they both use RPMs.
  • brombulecbrombulec Member Posts: 186 ■■■□□□□□□□