Backing-up PIX config to TFTP

GodHandGodHand Member Posts: 46 ■■□□□□□□□□
My first post to the world of Security gurus. :)

Guys i have this pix 535 sec appliance and duno how to backup its configuration to the TFTP. The version of the firewall is 6.3(4). I'm using Solarwinds as my TFTP application.

TFTP is already prepared.

Here is the command i used in pix.

pix535FW(config)#tftp-server 10.1.1.1 /tftp/cisco/fw_config

To start copying to tftp i type this:

pix535FW(config)#write net :

The error is: icon_sad.gif

Building configuration...
TFTP write '/tftp/cisco/fw_config' at 10.1.1.1 on interface 1
TFTP error: File Open Error 3
[FAILED]

I'm not good in pix icon_wink.gif , im new to it and im starting to learn its features. I need to backup the configuration before purging any policies in the near future. I also heard that my company is planning to migrate to fortinet box. Is there a program that can translate pix commands to fortinet commands?

Thanks. :)
Most of the important things in the world have been accomplished by people who have kept on trying when there seemed to be no hope at all.

Comments

• sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I don't see Fortinet listed as supported right now, but you might drop these guys an email asking if it will soon. I am not sure if this tool will do what you want, but it's worth a look-see.
    http://www.kiwisyslog.com/cattools-info.php
    All things are possible, only believe.
  • GodHandGodHand Member Posts: 46 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Hi sprkymrk,

Thanks for the post, this tool is nice. I emailed their tech support and see if they can help me.

I have two pix 535 and contains a lot of policies, may be 20-25 pages and this next quarter we're planning to migrate to Fortigate 1000. If i will configure this policies line by line in Fortigate, it will consume time. I worry about downtime because im on a mission critical environment.

If you have any suggestions... icon_wink.gif