Virtual lab verses hardware labs

Underdog66Underdog66 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,
I am new to this industry and this forum, so as such I need LOTS of guidance and advice. That said, I need some good, practical advice. Currently I am taking computer networking at a community college. We are studying switching and routing using VMWare and GNS3. In addition I am studying for the CCNA 100-101. I have read a lot of articles about how to go about learning these concepts, but am just not understanding it by reading and using GNS3.

My questions are:
1. I have this simulator, CCNA Routing and Switching 200-120 Network Simulator, but haven't installed it. Is it worth using?
2. I have looked at this CCNA Routing and Switching Lab Kit v2.0 200-120 and am seriously considering it. I live 50 miles form my community college which has a lab, but my instrutor said I could do the labs at home. It seems this kit would be worth the investment.
3. Is it worth the ten bucks a month for this, CCNA Training Videos - Networking Basics and IPv4 Addressing, or are these the same/similar videos on youtube?

Thanks for any advice

Comments

• jayskatajayskata Member Posts: 97 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I would recommend checking out video tutorials in youtube. It might help you understand the fundamentals. If you have spare bucks to buy labkit. It would be an advantage for hands on experience and you get to do experimenting on how different setup to better comprehend networking. GNS3 is good for practicing IP Routing and WAN Connection.
  • xnxxnx Member Posts: 464 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Real hardware for Switching labs and GNS3 for routing
    Getting There ...

Lab Equipment: Using Cisco CSRs and 4 Switches currently
  • OfWolfAndManOfWolfAndMan Member Posts: 923 ■■■■□□□□□□