Linux patching best practices

srjsrj Member Posts: 58 ■■■□□□□□□□
Does anyone have any good resources for Linux patching best practices? Most of our Linux systems are RHEL/Cent. I am a newer Sys Admin and was recently tasked with getting our Linux environment patched. We have a Spacewalk server to work with.

My biggest concern is determining whether a patch should be applied or not. Our environment is currently out of date by a few point releases per system. It is difficult/impossible to consider every possible update when the systems are so out of date. I would spend all day reading release notes. We're looking at 120-250+ patches per system.

For Linux admins, do you typically apply all updates that are available? Is it common for you to not update certain packages? I understand that each patch does run some risk of breaking things. Do you typically just apply errata updates? I have been trying to contact the "owners" of the systems. Many of them are software developers, so I try to get information about any packages that they are aware of that might break their environment. We do have a number of less savvy individuals who are admins of an application, but don't have much of an idea of any interactions with patches.

My thoughts right now are that worst case scenario is I revert to the pre-patching snapshot. I could also use yum to downgrade specific packages that I believe might be problematic.

Thank you all ahead of time. This seems to be one of the few areas that I cannot find much information.

Comments

• VeritiesVerities Member Posts: 1,162