Help with command "frame-relay route"

JCQuinnJCQuinn Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,

This is my first post so please be gentle icon_redface.gif
I'm currently studying with the Sybex 5th ed, and the Boson Netsim for CCNP v6.

I'm currently having an issue with hands on lab 11.3 (for those familiar with the book)..
Trying to set up a router to run as a frame relay switch. I have started off with a fresh network map, consisting of 3 x 2600's, each link via serial.

On the middle router I have performed the following:
Router#config t
Router(config)#hostname Lab_B
Lab_B(config)#frame-relay switching
Lab_B(config)#int s0
Lab_B(config-if)#encapsulation frame-relay
Lab_B(config-if)#int s1
Lab_B(config-if)#encapsulation frame-relay

no probs there... my issue occurs:
Lab_B(config-if)#int s0
Lab_B(config-if)#frame intf-type dce
Lab_B(config-if)#frame-relay route 102 interface Serial0/1 201
...........................................................^
%invalid input detected at '^' marker.

So from there my next step was:

Lab_B(config-if)#frame-relay route ?
<16-1007> input dlci to be switched

but no matter what value I use, the last digit of the dlci brings up the invalid input notification.

Any assistance in this one would be greatly appreciated.. forgive me if this has been covered before. What am I doing incorrectly? or is there some known issue with the boson netsim and this command.

Regards,
Jeremy

Comments

• mwgoodmwgood Member Posts: 293
    Well, if you are using 3 routers and 1 of them is your frame-relay switch, then you are only using 2 Serial interfaces on the frame switch, right?

That means that you can only have 2 dlci's per interface - inbound and outbound.

The frame-relay route command specifies both dlci's in a single command - therefore no more are needed on each interface on this scenario.

It looks like you may need to switch over to the other Serial interface to assign a mirror image of the dlci mappings you put on the first Serial interface.