For those who have taken the two test route...

zholling10zholling10 Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am currently studying to take the ICND 2 probably in the next few weeks, I am just wondering how it compares to the ICND 1. Was it more difficult? Are there the same amount of questions? Anything in particular I should focus on for the ICND 2? Did any material from the the ICND 1 show up on the ICND 2?

Comments

• Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I found the test itself more difficult. However I found studying for it easier.

Two basic reasons. Some of whats on ICND2 was already studied for ICND1. Think of things like subnetting.
    Second I had already taken ICND1 so I knew what to expect in the exam environment. The first test I did not.

Good Luck!
  • goldenlightgoldenlight Member Posts: 378 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I took the Icnd 2 June 2013 I found it was easier ..
    The Only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven't found it keep looking. Don't settle - Steve Jobs
  • markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I just passed the ICND2 this past weekend.

There is a little bit of overlap, so if you're strong on the ICND1, that's a good start. I would look at the objectives and make sure you're comfortable with those. It goes more in depth into OSPF and EIGRP and talks about STP and RSTP a lot more.

I don't know if I'd say it was easier or harder. I think Jon_Cisco said it well stating that it was easier to study for but a more difficult test.

I failed ICND1 the first time and passed ICND2 the first try though.
  • theodoxatheodoxa Member Posts: 1,340 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I took the old tests (640 Series), so I don't know if this is still true, but ICND2 felt a lot more difficult. Interestingly enough, I actually did slightly better on ICND2 than ICND1.
    R&S: CCENT CCNA CCNP CCIE [ ]
    Security: CCNA [ ]
    Virtualization: VCA-DCV [ ]
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Senior Member Posts: 0 ■■□□□□□□□□