starting from the bottom...change in career. In need of some concrete advise!!!

onyeisionyeisi Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Good evening everyone,

Quick background...

I earned my Associate's in Computer Networking Technology in 2002, and interned as a help desk tech and did some IT consulting too. However I decided back then that I switch my career path to the science field. I earned my BSc in Chemistry/Biology and now I am currently working as an analyst in a laboratory. Long story short I have grown weary of my current situation, and I am seriously looking to returning to IT. Right now I am studying for the A+ certification and hopefully take the 801 before year end.

What are my chances of landing a help desk position, esp. for someone who's been out of the industry for so long?
"A noble man makes noble plans and by noble deeds he stands."

Comments

• the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Depending on what you need to make to survive I don't believe you'll have any issues. Help desk is largely about your communication skills. So in the beginning you might literally just submit the ticket, you'll eventually move further along.
    WIP:
    PHP
    Kotlin
    Intro to Discrete Math
    Programming Languages
    Work stuff
  • onyeisionyeisi Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
    OK. Thanks, that helps.
  • VAHokie56VAHokie56 Member Posts: 783
    I think with the A+ and some experience in the show you should be fine, just be sure to play that IT experience hard on your resume...obviously don't lie but its way more important than your science focus career. Odds are you first job back will happen via IT recruiter and they search on job sites and linkedin for buzz words so make sure they are in your resume.
    .ιlι..ιlι.
    CISCO
    "A flute without holes, is not a flute. A donut without a hole, is a Danish" - Ty Webb
    Reading:NX-OS and Cisco Nexus Switching: Next-Generation Data Center Architectures