Need Help 410

ignacioalfonsoignacioalfonso Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi!

I am new in Windows Certification, i am planning to have an MCSA for Windows Server 20112 . but i've been looking around the web and on different forums on what learning path i should take (videos? ebook?) rather a study guide to pass the MCSA series (410,411,412). i dont have the financial capacity to enroll to a microsoft training center so my best option with be is to self-study.

i already have a CB nuggets video 410 2012/r2 by james conrad and decent a computer for a lab.
but i still im having hesitations if this would be enough to pass the 410.

help/comment/suggestions is highly appreciated.

thank you in advance.

Comments

• srabieesrabiee Member Posts: 1,231 ■■■■■■■■□□
    The CBT videos alone will not be enough to pass the exam unless you have many years of Windows Server experience under your belt (preferably in an enterprise environment). Microsoft exams are quite difficult. (The people that write those test questions are basically playing a game called "Stump the Sysadmin." That's sure as hell what it seems like.)

I highly recommend the Sybex book Mastering Windows Server 2012 R2 by Mark Minasi. That book covers all three of the exams related to the MCSA: Server 2012 certification. The CBT videos will be a good complement to the book. The book can be purchased on Amazon.

You will need to lab everything that you encounter in the book, including setting up an AD DS domain in a lab environment, DHCP and DNS roles, IPAM, DHCP Failover, etc. The book presumes that you already know how to configure a domain in a test/lab environment, but it also explains some of the basics such as setting up AD DS, creating user roles, etc. Google and Technet will also be a vital resource.

Take your time, and again, LAB EVERYTHING.