CCNA Datacenter Wrap Up

staticzstaticz Member Posts: 54 ■■□□□□□□□□
I passed the 640-916 today on my second try, completing the CCNA Datacenter certification. Since I don't see a ton of threads about CCNA DC I thought I'd post my thoughts and observations.

Even though I failed the 916 (by 9 freaking points!) I felt the 640-911 was much harder. This test seems to have been updated recently and contained a lot of questions that neither Todd Lammle nor CBT Nuggets even mentioned. I was able to pass based on previous knowledge by I highly suggest reading the blue print before you sit this exam. In fact, it might actually be worth taking the 640-916 first.

My biggest gripe with 640-916 is that I work in the field and am not a reseller. The test focused too much on product lines. I tried to ignore it as suggested by CBT Nuggets but my mastery of other areas wasn't quite there so I failed...by 9 points no less. I decided to retake the test ASAP and was able to improve my score and pass - even got 100% in three sections!

So, have a good understanding of the 2, 5, and 7k lines along with a general idea of the MDS line. CBT Nuggets was my only training for 640-916, but I would reccomend going a little deeper on the product lines then Anthony does.

if anyone is interested I can post my notes or answer any questions! Otherwise I'll be going after CCNP DC!

Comments

• dsgmdsgm Member Posts: 228 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Yea i am very interested in your notes and thoughts on this exam, i have been watching the nuggets and reading the nexus next generation data center architectures.

From my reading of the CCNA center Study guide it seemed it had a lot of basic stuff with nexus thrown in there but i see that you have your ccent.
  • Kai123Kai123 Member Posts: 364 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I never knew there was a CCNA:DC, was still trying to figure out if I needed to take the CCNA:SP or the CCNA:SP Ops for ISP related work.
  • IristheangelIristheangel Mod Posts: 4,133 Mod