Passed ACE

I passed the AccessData Certified Examiner test on the 12th. It wasn't a cert that I had heard very much about, but it was the final for my Advanced Digital Forensics class. Does anyone else have it, and does it actually hold any weight?

Comments

• reubs6reubs6 Member Posts: 43 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I've never heard of it in my Security research, however I am still new to the field. When trying to find out more about the demand for a cert, I usually try putting it in a search on Careerbuilder, Dice or LinkedIN to see what type of results I get.
    Plans for 2017
    PMP-September
  • 5ekurity5ekurity Member Posts: 346 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I have it as well; due to the nature of the test I think it establishes your proficiency in using the AD suite of products to conduct a digital forensics investigation. It would probably hold more weight if you go into a forensics focused role, as opposed to something else. Then again, if you work for an EnCase shop, throw that knowledge out the window.
  • zxshockaxzzxshockaxz Member Posts: 108
    5ekurity wrote: »
    I have it as well; due to the nature of the test I think it establishes your proficiency in using the AD suite of products to conduct a digital forensics investigation. It would probably hold more weight if you go into a forensics focused role, as opposed to something else. Then again, if you work for an EnCase shop, throw that knowledge out the window.

My thoughts exactly. I really don't have a HUGE forensic interest. I'm definitely going more towards the offensive security route, but I figured it would at least be helpful knowledge for anti-forensics.
    I understand what you mean; knowing the tools and where to look from a forensics side can help you to be more stealthy as a offensive security professional. Take a look at Harlan Carvey's blog Windows Incident Response if you want more info on forensics.
  • bigdogzbigdogz Member Posts: 881 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I was thinking about getting this cert.