Getting Started with Certs; Open to advice

MideMide Member Posts: 61 ■■□□□□□□□□
So even though I've been working in IT for around 15 years, I don't have one cert to my name since I took the formal education route with regards to career:

BS,MS,MBA

My work experience didn't really change with each additional degree/job, so I'm looking to see if the cert route is a better way to go. I'm currently a NAS/Server admin, but I'd like to wander over to the Security side of things. I've done some research and I guess there are some issues here and there, so any advice would be nice.

SSCP - Looks like a good stepping stone, but there is 1 year of infosec experience required. I don't know if my sys admin experience will cover for the infosec requirement. Additionally, searching on Dice for SSCP, I don't see many hits around where I live. This makes me wonder if this cert is worth the time/effort vs payout.

CISSP - Looks like the gold standard for certs in this arena, but I am far from the 5 years of experience needed. A few years can be knocked off with my degrees, but the content is of concern. Is the content of the exam, for someone who works in IT, but is not directly responsible for IT Security doable? I read that the route some people take is to pass the exam, then get a job in the field, but is that a common approach?

C|EH - Looks interesting and more technically hands-on. 2 years of infosec experience. It looks like they encourage candidates to pay for specialized classes (Around $3K) though.

Security + - Very entry-level. Not sure how useful it would look to a hiring manager vs the rest of my resume.

Just looking at what route is the best bang for the buck vs time.

Comments

• techfiendtechfiend Member Posts: 1,481 ■■■■□□□□□□