CCNP Journey -- Complete! (long post)

msnelgrovemsnelgrove Member Posts: 167
Hi everyone,

Yesterday I was fortunate enough to finish off TSHOOT to complete my CCNP. I thought I would make a post about my CCNP journey.

I passed my CCNA back in 2013 and had been eyeing the CCNP ever since. I gathered my resources a couple months later but I was never able to get back into study mode. I would review some of the material here and there but didn't really have a study plan. Back in August of this year I found out that the CCNP was being updated and rather than have to gather new resources, I decided to use this as my motivation for studying.

Originally, I had given myself 1 month for each test, and set my course for SWITCH->ROUTE->TSHOOT.

I started studying for SWITCH and found the material to be fun, I liked it, it was easy to understand -- everything was clicking away. I used the INE videos as well as the Keith Barker CBT nuggets for one of the CCNP:S tests. I found that the CBT nuggets series was a great compliment to SWITCH for the gaps that the INE videos left. This was also my first experience with Keith Barker and I was very pleased that the videos weren't dry and boring like some of the Microsoft ones I have watched in the past. I labbed using the switches I have at home as well as the switches available at Free Cisco Catalyst Switch Lab. I studied probably 3-4 hours weekdays and 8 or so hours Saturday and Sunday. By the middle of August I was able to knock out SWITCH and move on to ROUTE.