I hope the time I am spending as a field tech will pay off..

Matt_SmiMatt_Smi Member Posts: 111 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have been a field tech for just five months now, I do mainly break/fix support on Dells, but also do other sorts of “projects” for companies, such as server installs, re-images, ect. I am already feeling a little discouraged with my job, I don’t want to turn this into a rant because I am glad that I have a job, a start in the field I want to be in, I just hope it gets me somewhere. I only make $12 an hour, I do get paid for mileage, .45 cents a mile, my car does not get great gas mileage so a good portion of that goes into my tank anyway. But it seems I have to **** more and more money into my car to keep it going because of the wear and tear I put on it everyday from my job, so a good portion of my paychecks are being put into my car because I have to use it, if I didn’t have to drive so much, I would not need these repairs, I usually drive 80-120 miles a day.

I am sure there are some others on here who have been a field tech at some point or are one currently, and I am sure they will agree when I say it is an extremely stressful job and some days it just does not seem worth the lousy pay. I won’t get too into it, but most days are a nightmare, from clients giving the wrong contact info so you cant even get a hold of them, Dell shipping the wrong or defective part, finding clients locations and keeping them all equally happy, which I consider myself good at doing.