Hello everyone. I have a question

shaneishanei Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
First off, many thanks for taking the time to read my post and possibly even reply with thought or advice.

I have worked in the telecom industry for the past 19 years. Anywhere from commercial network cabling (cat5, cat6, fiber, coax etc) to central office equipment installation and everything in between.
I do not have any degrees, although I have gone through a few years of college when I was younger, but I lacked the commitment and discipline really. Well next thing I know I am 40 years old doing the same thing. Well, this work is mainly contract basis and I am just getting sick of the instability. I do realize every path has its ups and downs, but contracting network installation can be extreme, or lot of traveling both of which I am done, lol!

Anyhow, I have some experience playing network admin as I have built my own "lab" or hack lab i guess you could say. self teaching basic administration skills with some basic nodes and a catalyst switch. Some linux but very basic.
The main thing is I have no doubt I can obtain whatever path I may choose. I have the want and commitment now, but I lack the $$ and time for full time student status.

I guess what I am getting at is network security/infosec always being a huge hobby/interest of mine. I am currently planning to start the ball rolling with getting several of my CompTIA + certs which I basically will go as I get the extra loot to pay for each test. For the most part I have these fundamentals down. After that I am looking at the GSEC: GIAC certification and possibly a few others and also the CEH I just found out about, of which I am super stoked lol

How does this rough plan sound and done within a reasonable timeframe over the next 2-3 years...what is my realistic options with me getting into my 40's and breaking into "real" IT field? lol
Yeah, turning 40 has freaked me out indeed...i mean I was just 21 man! lol