LPIC-1 & 2 as a precursor to RHCSA <Security+?>

orlandoflorlandofl Member Posts: 216 ■■■□□□□□□□
I’m Travis. I have a couple years of experience in technology as a PC tech, ISP service installation/troubleshooting, and telecommunications networking (RF). I’m also a veteran of the Army with over six years of service. I had a question in regards to becoming a Linux admin. I understand that Redhat certifications hold more weight in the industry. It would seem this is largely due to the RHCSA being ‘hands on’ and the Linux+/LPIC1 exam being more multiple choice and scenario based. Would taking the LPIC-1 and LPIC-2 examinations be the best precursor and adequately prepare one for the RHCSA examination? I sit for the CompTIA Network+ exam this week. I have the Security+ ‘bundle’ which is good for a year. What order of certifications would help to ensure success on the Linux certifications (Would it be best to do net+, Security+, then LPI-1&2 then RHCSA, or could Security+ wait?-not sure how much security related content is required for Linux) The finale, I’m currently laid off from an RF telecommunications positon I was in with Ericsson and have 40+ hours weekly to devote to study for exams, I plan on going back to work in 3 months. That being said, do you honestly think giving 40 hours a week for a month (160 hours) would be enough to prepare and pass the first Linux+ exam, and then spending another month on the second Linux+ exam? I have a limited amount of experience with Linux (basic commands and Ubuntu GUI J) but I honestly have nothing but time. I’ve narrowed my study materials to CBT nuggets, LinuxAcademy.com, (I’m a huge video fan), the Roderick Smith Linux+ book:

CompTIA Linux+ Study Guide: Exams LX0-101 and LX0-102: Roderick W. Smith: 9781118531747: Amazon.com: Books

And The Linux Command Line: A Complete Introduction by William Shotts:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1593273894/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1