Laptop Choices

biggenebiggene Member Posts: 153 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hey folks,

I am in the process of shopping for a new laptop for school, and I have narrowed it down to two choices. I would like to get opinions on these. My budget is $700 and is pretty firm. It would have to be an awesome deal for me to go over that.

HP 350 G1 Intel Core i5 8GB Memory 1TB HDD 15.6 Notebook Windows 7 Professional/ Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit - J5P04UT#ABA at TigerDirect.com

or

Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E540 Intel Core i7 4GB Memory 500GB HDD 15.6 Notebook Windows 7 Professional/Windows 8 Pro 64-bit - 20C6008QUS at TigerDirect.com

Thanks for the help,
Gene

Comments

• tkerbertkerber Member Posts: 223
    Hmmm...

To be honest I'm not really liking either of those but that's just my opinion. They have good specs for the price but they just look big and clunky. As a student myself that was on campus several times a week I found anything over 13" to be a burden to carry around and I don't know how battery life is so I can't factor that in.

I personally had a slim ultrabook type of laptop for college because I got sick of hauling around my giant laptop and having to keep it plugged in. Also for a lot of my classes I had access to the schools desktops if I needed real power for a lab or class work. So it really depends on what kind of classes you're doing and what kind of power you will require. If you're not going to be doing anything involving virtual machines, labs, or gaming I would consider an ultrabook. I have an XPS 13 for a work laptop and I love it. It's very slim, got an i5, SSD, and fantastic battery life..

If I had to choose one of yours I would choose the Lenovo partly because I really dislike HPs consumer grade laptops and have had way too many problems with them both at home and at the companies I've worked at. I think Lenovo makes solid laptops and if I had to buy a new laptop myself it would be a toss up between an XPS and an X1 carbon.