Sec+ or GISF/GSEC?

bradl3yCbradl3yC Member Posts: 67 ■■■□□□□□□□
Which route would make more sense to take? Sec+ or GISF/GSEC? I have no security experience and my knowledge on most security topics is nominal at best.

Thanks!

Comments

• cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    I would take GISF out of the equation right off the bat. Many agree that this class/cert is extremely basic, no one know what it is, will produce single digit results in a job search, so definitely not worth the time/money if you wan to pursue a technical security path. I'm convinced that those who take GISF are either high level management, people who need to fill a box of some sort compliance-wise, or individuals who underestimated their knowledge.

What is your goal here? Are you looking just to get your feet wet into security or is security the end goal? Are you looking to gain knowledge, be more marketable, both?
  • bradl3yCbradl3yC Member Posts: 67 ■■■□□□□□□□
    All of the above, really. I want to learn and become more marketable with the end goal being a job in infosec.

I have 13 years experience in helpdesk type work with the last year as being a system admin.
  • JoJoCal19JoJoCal19 Mod Posts: 2,835 Mod
    With your lack of experience and knowledge on InfoSec, I would recommend reading the Security+ book, even if you don't attempt the certification. Also I would HIGHLY recommend being comfortable with networking, Windows, and Linux at least on the CCENT, 70-410/411, and Linux+ level respectively.
    Have: CISSP, CISM, CISA, CRISC, eJPT, GCIA, GSEC, CCSP, CCSK, AWS CSAA, AWS CCP, OCI Foundations Associate, ITIL-F, MS Cyber Security - USF, BSBA - UF, MSISA - WGU
    Currently Working On: Python, OSCP Prep
    Next Up:​ OSCP
    Studying:​ Code Academy (Python), Bash Scripting, Virtual Hacking Lab Coursework
    JoJoCal19 wrote: »