Dedicated Study server

Hi Guys,

Just looking for some input for a dedicated build for server training that will only have Server 2012 on it with Hyper-V running like 4 vms.

Not a massive builder so any help would be awesome.

I live in the UK so I am looking to spend max £400
70-410 [x] 70-411 [x] 70-462[x] 70-331[x] 70-332[x]
MCSE - SharePoint 2013 :thumbup:

Road map 2017: JavaScript and modern web development

Comments

• pjd007pjd007 Member Posts: 277 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I know plenty on here have bought dedicated servers but as yet I don't see the need, I have a Win 8.1 PC with an i5 processor, 16GB memory, 2xSSD's (with additional HDD for larger storage) and dual screen.

I've run 4 VM's at a time and had no issues, I'm currently studying for 411 and as yet I don't see the need for anything more powerful but if I do need more capacity at a later date then I would probably look to use Azure temporarily (if it's cost effective) until my studies were finished.

So I'd say if you already have a fairly new machine start by using that and see how you go, hard drives are the bottleneck on most systems so if you're running 1xHDD upgrade to SSD (preferably 2xSSD with your host OS on one then run another VM on the same SSD with the others on the 2nd SSD) as that is a fairly cheap option these days and £400 would easily cover that plus the cost of some additional memory if required.
  • knownheroknownhero Member Posts: 450
    Yeah I have the same currently with my PC. Which I use mainly for gaming at the moment. The reason why I want to not really use it (which I do now) is that I want to actually have a small server that I can leave on.

Do you just use the Hyper-V that comes with 8.1 pro? I used it and had issues with it not creating the virtual switches to connect the machines together.

knownhero wrote: »