Security+ BootCamp or Self Study

Midnite8Midnite8 Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys, I want to obtain the Security+ but was wondering which is recommended, going to a 3-5 day BootCamp or just buying the CompTIA Security+: Get Certified Get Ahead: SY0-401 by Darril Gibson. I am still a college student so I am in no hurry to get the certification yet.

Comments

• stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
    My advice is to use the self-study method to gauge whether or not you need to go to a class. Buy the book, study until you can explain every concept in the book, then schedule the test. If you pass...great! You've just saved a couple of thousand dollars. If you fail, then you know that you might just need to take the class. Since, there is no guarantee which approach will work best for you, I recommend going the least expensive route first.
    The easiest thing to be in the world is you. The most difficult thing to be is what other people want you to be. Don't let them put you in that position. ~ Leo Buscaglia

Connect With Me || My Blog Site || Follow Me
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Senior Member Posts: 0 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Self study all the way. Paying for a bootcamp is not giving you a good rate of return. If you were doing the CISSP for example, it would be worth it.
  • BurnsieBurnsie Member Posts: 84 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I used Darril's SY0-301 book when I took the Sec+ in early 2014. I read the book all the way through and took every end of chapter test as I finished the respective chapter. Once done reading, I took all of the chapter tests again and then the practice exam included in the book. I then made flash cards for the questions/topics I got wrong. I did all of this in about a 2-3 week period and then took the exam. I believe I got a 840/900 or something along those lines.

The exam is pretty straight forward and Darril does a great job preparing you for the exam.

B
  • Midnite8Midnite8 Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□