RHCSA Passed

XavorXavor Member Posts: 161
I took the kiosk version for rhel6 last week and passed by a good margin. I wanted to take the test on 6 because that is what I studied on this year. I believe in January all the exams will be on rhel7.

The kiosk style exam felt awkward because of all the cameras, but overall I think it went well. The time flies by, and I left one question unanswered because I didn't want to risk making the system unbootable with only 15 minutes left on my time. I triple-checked all my settings and rebooted more than I needed to.

I used Jang's book for the actual studying, but I have half a dozen Linux books I've gone through over the year. I get distracted by things not on the RHCSA course material and would rather work on RHCE or more infrastructure-based services.

The exam did feel more rewarding for me because it was hands on. You have that fear that you make one change and 2 hours of work goes down the tubes.

I think I'm done with certs for a while and will just focus my efforts on learning more about openstack and docker.

Comments

• brownwrapbrownwrap Member Posts: 549
    Congratulations! What is the significance of the sub?
  • XavorXavor Member Posts: 161
    I was in the Navy for 5 years as communications guy on submarines.
    Xavor wrote: »
    I was in the Navy for 5 years as communications guy on submarines.

I was never in the Navy, but worked on subs from 1971-1977 in Groten and Mare Island Naval Shipyard.
  • H3||scr3amH3||scr3am Member Posts: 564 ■■■■□□□□□□
    congrats on the cert :D
  • Dakinggamer87Dakinggamer87 Member Posts: 4,016 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Congrats on pass!!
    *Associate's of Applied Sciences degree in Information Technology-Network Systems Administration
    *Bachelor's of Science: Information Technology - Security, Master's of Science: Information Technology - Management
    Matthew 6:33 - "Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need."