Problem with CISCO Router 2600 series Booting

sagarmistrysagarmistry Member Posts: 108
Hey guys, So it seems like i have a bad luck when it comes to cisco devices. Just broke a 2950 switch as some of you know.

Now I have this new problem. This router was working fine when i checked a few days ago. didn't do anything on it after. but today when i started learning routing and tried to boot it up it shows me error message and the booting process is in continuous loop.

Here's what I see:

################################################################################### [OK]

*** Machine Check Exception ***
PC = 0x826c0178, Vector = 0x200, SP = 0x8000616c

monitor: command "boot" aborted due to exception

System Bootstrap, Version 12.2(7r) [cmong 7r], RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)
Copyright (c) 2002 by cisco Systems, Inc.
C2600 platform with 65536 Kbytes of main memory

program load complete, entry point: 0x80008000, size: 0x1912848
Self decompressing the image : ######################################################################################################################

boot aborted due to exception. No idea why this is happening. Haven't even learned any command on routers and it has started to give me trouble.

So i searched a bit online and a cisco site said send a break command. so through tera term I did

and it takes me to ROMMON mode, which I have no idea what that is.

So through ROMMON mode I tried typing few commands like boot and stuff but no luck.

Any idea from you guys would be great!!

I'm not giving up just yet.
ICND1 ---> 6th March

Comments

• clarsonclarson Member Posts: 903 ■■■■□□□□□□
    try resetting your memory sticks. open the cover, pull the memory and put it back in.
    at the rommon prompt do a "dir flash:" see if it can read the flash memory
  • sagarmistrysagarmistry Member Posts: 108
    clarson wrote: »
    at the rommon prompt do a "dir flash:" see if it can read the flash memory