Python System Administration

ally_ukally_uk Member Posts: 1,145 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hi there am looking at starting to learn more about Python specifically for Administration. I use both Windows and Linux and would like to be able to automate stuff like backups, firewall configuration and have the ability to call system commands / create a fancy menu based admin script with various options a user can select.

Question is how the hell do I go about learning this? I am a python noob don't get me wrong I have followed some tutorials online but have got bored halfway through. You know the ones whee you write hello world and define variables I get impatient and want to learn more sophisticated stuff.

So are there any tutorials / Guides / videos out there for system administration or doing the above I have dipped in the o'reiley book but found it to be a bit dry and not really getting to the point.

If you have any resources or ideas as to how to get going I would be most grateful.
Microsoft's strategy to conquer the I.T industry

" Embrace, evolve, extinguish "

Comments

• the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    If you do an import os then you'll get access to run commands that you would typically run on a command line via os.system.

https://docs.python.org/2/library/os.html
    WIP:
    PHP
    Kotlin
    Intro to Discrete Math
    Programming Languages
    Work stuff
  • Kinet1cKinet1c Member Posts: 604 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Check out Kirk Byers intro to python, it's starting in 2 weeks. It's free and sent via email.
    2018 Goals - Learn all the Hashicorp products

Luck is what happens when preparation meets opportunity
  • ally_ukally_uk Member Posts: 1,145 ■■■■□□□□□□
    How do I sign up for this?
    Microsoft's strategy to conquer the I.T industry

" Embrace, evolve, extinguish "
  • yzTyzT Member Posts: 365 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Honestly, you don't need Python for anything of that. On Linux you use bash, and on Windows Powershell.