SSCP Study Time and Resources

orlandoflorlandofl Member Posts: 216 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello,

I passed Net+ today, will be setting for Security+ in 4 weeks. I understand April 15th CISSP and SSCP exams will change dramatically. I was thinking of perusing SSCP directly after Security+. This would give me a maximum of 6 weeks to study for the exam (and do a retake in a week if need be) before the blueprints change. I have no experience in Information Security. My question is, do you think this is feasible? I'll be studying full time (40 hours a week) for 4-6 weeks. Can the SSCP be done in this time frame? <Ultimately I plan on completing the CISSP after some experience and a good amount of studying time>
What resources can you recommend? (Books, practice tests ect) I see CBT Nuggets has the SSCP, but it's from 2011, weren't the newest exam objectives implemented in 2012?

Thanks for all your help!

-Travis
  • Education: B.A. Criminal Justice - Thomas Edison State University
  • Education: Undergraduate Certificate in Microsoft Server Administration - St. Petersburg College
  • Currently Working On: MCSA - Windows 10
  • Planned Certifications for 2017: MCSE - Mobility
  • Connect With Me On LinkedIn:https://www.linkedin.com/in/travisebyrd

Comments

• mataimatai Member Posts: 232 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I went from Security+ to SSCP in about 4 weeks. It didn't seem to be a big jump to me, just more questions basically. I think I just used the AIO book.
    Current: CISM, CISA, CISSP, SSCP, GCIH, GCWN, C|EH, VCP5-DCV, VCP5-DT, CCNA Sec, CCNA R&S, CCENT, NPP, CASP, CSA+, Security+, Linux+, Network+, Project+, A+, ITIL v3 F, MCSA Server 2012 (70-410, 70-411, 74-409), 98-349, 98-361, 1D0-610, 1D0-541, 1D0-520
    In Progress: ​Not sure...
  • reubs6reubs6 Member Posts: 43 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I got my Sec+ in November and just got Darill Gibson's AIO for the SSCP last week. Once I get some time to read it, I hope to be ready for the test by the end of February.
    Plans for 2017