Hard to get DC rack time!

ninjaturtleninjaturtle Member Posts: 245 ■■■□□□□□□□
I knew it was hard to get rack time for the CCIE-DC, but I didn't think it was this hard! These vendors are booked up pretty solid. I'm actually thinking about not going down the data center path ...okay that's just absurd, of course I will!! icon_lol.gif It's just a little frustrating. Being that I had my own lab at home for the CCNP R&S, it feels weird to now struggle to get lab time, not to mention pay for rack rentals. This stuff isn't cheap! I guess most of my pay check will be going to tokens.I'm currently studying for the CCNA-DC, where I plan to then do the CCNP-DC. But I really want some exposure to the mock labs. I just feel the need to get some hands on experience, plus it will solidify my CCNP-DC studies. CCIE-DC is definitely in the books and I will strive to get it.All you DC study heads must have a lot of patience for those rack rentals or planned WAY ahead of schedule.
Current Study Discipline: CCIE Data Center
Cisco SEAL, Cisco SWAT, Cisco DeltaForce, Cisco FBI, Cisco DoD, Cisco Army Rangers, Cisco SOCOM .ιlι..ιlι.

Comments

• gorebrushgorebrush Member Posts: 2,743 ■■■■■■■□□□
    This is the one thing that really puts me off pursuing the DC for the moment - I'm not sure I want to sink money in rack tokens for what little time the slots are available. However, having said that, I'd be interested to know just how much of the lab I can virtualise and get away with, but I have a feeling it won't be a lot.

i.e. UCSPE I believe covers the UCS, and I think you can get some good NX-OS coverage on the 1KV or VIRL or whatever, but ultimately I think tokens will have to be the way everyone goes, unless they are lucky enough to have very understanding employers who just happen to have spare Nexus kit floating about... I don't see that likely either, this stuff is not cheap, as you point out!
  • joelsfoodjoelsfood Member Posts: 1,027 ■■■■■■□□□□