Options

Security+ Study Resources

tanvir2220tanvir2220 Member Posts: 21 ■■■□□□□□□□
What are the preferred books and study resources for Security+ ? How many hours should I study to pass? How difficult is the exam? Please suggest me,folks..

P.S: I am a beginner. Another thing, I appeared for CISA exam but could not clear(got 401). Will my CISA study be helpful in Security+ ?

Comments

• Options
    orlandoflorlandofl Member Posts: 216 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I'll answer this, since I just asked this question and got it answered myself! :D So Darril Gibson's Book [h=1]CompTIA Security+: Get Certified Get Ahead: SY0-401 Study Guide[/h]is pretty much the definitive guide to the Security+ exam.

This book can be had on Amazon.com
    CompTIA Security+: Get Certified Get Ahead: SY0-401 Study Guide: Darril Gibson: 9781939136022: Amazon.com: Books

In terms of supplementing his book he has a 'Security+ Full access Package' that includes practice exams (including simulation based questions) flash cards, and audio mp3 files to help retain the main concepts.
    Pass the Security+ Exam the First Time You Take It | Get Certified Get Ahead

Aside from that CBT nuggets has a great video course that I highly recommend, I love their videos and I use them as my first line of studying.
    https://www.cbtnuggets.com

There is also the Professor Messer Videos that are free.

Just for clarity you stated,
    What are the preferred books and study resources for Security+ ? How many hours should I study to pass? How difficult is the exam? Please suggest me,folks..

P.S: I am a beginner. Another thing, I appeared for CISA exam but could not clear(got 401). Will my CISA study be helpful in Security+ ?