VMware vCenter Server Appliance & Lab

OakparktechOakparktech Member Posts: 64 ■■□□□□□□□□
Two questions.

1. I am a beginner setting up lab on my HP Proliant DL380G6. With vSphere I "file deployed ovf template" and it error out during the configuration. Can you please give me some advice on how to properly install vCenter Server Appliance. attached is screen shot.

2. Preparing for VCP5-DCV and setting up lab to get some experience with Vmotion, templates and clones, HA etc. Below are the tasks I completed. Is there anything you recommend as I am building this lab?

a. created RAID5 ( I have 4 drives of 146GB) (24GB RAM)
b. bootable ESXi
c. installed two nested ESXi
d. working on vcenter applicance

thank you in advance.

Comments

• GAB1900GAB1900 Member Posts: 60 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Your database is not configured. I recommend you get a study guide to follow/understand all the steps.
  • OakparktechOakparktech Member Posts: 64 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I know the database is not configured. Been looking at you tubes videos and guides.
  • bgold87bgold87 Member Posts: 112
    Why use the Vcenter virutal appliance as opposed to the the Windows install? It only supports oracle for a DB and I haven't found many guides for this configuration. If you decide to change, here's my thread with a link for configuring Vcenter and a SQL DB.

http://www.techexams.net/forums/virtualization/105986-home-lab-tutorial.html
    Just learning and trying to figure out the best method for my lab. Are you saying create a windows server 2008 vm and install vcenter?
    Thanks for the link of your lab.
  • DeathmageDeathmage Banned Posts: 2,496
    Hello Oakparktech!

Yes I can see you do have a few issues, but that's OK, everyone starts somewhere.

Lets make a list and go over what needs to be done to fix your issue: