Options

Certification/training plan with a $4000 budget

cyber_fan_montereycyber_fan_monterey Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am a network engineer working in the Bay Area. Having started my job a month ago, my boss (a really nice lady) suggested I should get training programs and certifications along the way and to be supported by the company budget ($4000).

So far she has mentioned CCNA RS, CCNA wireless, HP Storage and VMware VCP because they will be related to the systems we are using. We have a backbone Cisco Switch, wireless controllers, Cisco ASA and 10+ virtualized servers. (as you would expect from a moderate network)

The best certifications I have obtained are CISSP and some IT sec. related DoD certifications. Personally I want to have an OSCP and maybe GIAC because I want to move towards a career as app security tester and excitingly to financial and banking industry (such as PCI-DSS compliance tasks).

Giving so much unnecessary info I want to ask your opinions on which certification route I should take.icon_cheers.gif

I am planning to use my PD budget for:

- a training program
- books
- certification and exams.

I would be happy to hear your ideas brilliant people!icon_lol.gif
MSc in Information Technology Management
Focus in IT Security

Comments

• Options
    OfWolfAndManOfWolfAndMan Member Posts: 923 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I think your boss is right on the money. Those certifications are a great start. The order you do them in however, considering your job responsibilities, is arbitrary. I will tell you though you will find nothing about the Cisco ASA in either of the Cisco exams mentioned. For the VCP however, you will have to take a course as well. With the Cisco certs though, you will just need to study, lab, and pass. Some good books to get you started with your Cisco studies:

Books:
    http://www.amazon.com/Routing-Switching-200-120-Official-Library/dp/1587143879/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1423795936&sr=8-1&keywords=cisco+ccna