Pursuing MCSA server 2012, which exam path do I take?

I have a couple years of work experience with Server 2008 R2. Mostly AD administration but a bit of GPO as well. Almost no Hyper-V or NPS/NAP experience. I'm not sure what career path I want to go towards, but right now Private Clouds and Citrix are things that interest me. Server, systems or network administration looks good too.

I was thinking the 411 first, followed by the 410 and finish with either the 409 or 462. How useful would some SQL knowledge be for the above career paths?

Comments

• nachodbanachodba Member Posts: 201 ■■■□□□□□□□
    The optimal track for you would be 410 (Install and Configure Server), 411 (Administer Server), 462 (Administering SQL Server). After that, depending on how much you wanted to go for SQL certs you would only need 461 (Querying SQL Server) and 463 (Data Warehouse) to get the MCSA SQL Server.
    2020 Goals
    work-life balance
  • nsternster Member Posts: 231
    EDIT: TY mods for moving to right forum!

yea 4 certs for 2 MCSAs looks nice, but how useful is SQL? I'm kind of scared by the 462, it looks quite difficult, 409 looks much more attainable lol. I was also scared off by the stories of 410 being really hard, figured getting the 411 would help confidence wise, but I can just prepare myself better I guess, and with the free second chance right now it seems a bit less scary.

I have no certs yet so all this is a bit intimidating. But I think this is doable. I wonder if this is doable in 3 months ish, I will be working 2 days a week in March April May. Take advantage of the second chance promo :p
  • Louie1277Louie1277 Member Posts: 505 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Trust me it's hard but it will be good to pass it . I felt the same way about taking the exam. So many people saying how hard it is and failing. I myself failed twice already.. Didn't get enough lab work in was my issue and GP policy ...