Advice on Meeting the Experience Requirement

milestegmilesteg Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello All,

I would like to get some opinions from current CISSPs regarding whether or not my current background would meet the CISSP experience requirements:

I have a PhD in Computer Engineering and have some published research the past several years in information security (2009-present).

I did a brief stint as a postdoc in cybersecurity at a government research lab for 6 months or so.

For about the last four years I have also been working in a primarily administrative IT role at a university that has involved some security policy-making and governance while teaching miscellaneous computer science courses such as Software Engineering, Networking, etc.

The CISSP endorsement form mentions "Research and Development" as valid experience, but I'm not sure if that would apply to my case.

For cases where the work is full-time, but only a percentage of one's duties are related to information security, how is the experience calculated? Pro-rating based on the amount of ones times spent on work in one of the CBK domains?

Thanks.

Comments

• sponge2sponge2 Member Posts: 38 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Hi milesteg,
    As an IT admin you enforce security policies. I am also assuming that you implement access controls as an admin.
    You should use these facts to document and take credit for your work experience.
    Hope this helps.
  • chickenlicken09chickenlicken09 Member Posts: 537 ■■■■□□□□□□
    keep them coming, as a network admin i have been struggling to think of what i can put down on cv that will aid me get a security role. dont know why.
  • ArchonArchon Member Posts: 183 ■■■□□□□□□□
    eddo1 wrote: »
    keep them coming, as a network admin i have been struggling to think of what i can put down on cv that will aid me get a security role. dont know why.

Telecommunications and Network security is one of the biggest domains. Surely most of what you do daily is evidence :)