Options

Complete noobie

Fiery magusFiery magus Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm 31 years old and have a spent my 20s working in restaurants and dept stores. Plenty of sales and training/mgmt experience but currently am waiting tables in an upscale restaurant because you can't beat the money for the hours. I've always wanted to work in computer science and IT but besides some basic hardware and command prompt knowledge I have no real experience to draw on at all. I'm not going back to college because it's just so incredibly expensive and time consuming, and like most people these days I feel like professional certificates just make a hell of a lot more sense.

After surfing sites like bls.gov and the like, it's easy to see that certifications like CCNA etc are easily as lucrative as a degree in engineering but the impression you get is that certifications without experience to back it up are pretty worthless. My question is how a person like me (and I'm no dummy when it's comes to computers and networks but professionally speaking am a total novice) might go about working toward a career in the IT field, with certifications and job experience being approximately zero, but my work ethic is very strong and my IQ is very high. I don't feel in any way that the industry is something I couldn't break into but the path I take should be very deliberate at this point in my life and I'd greatly appreciate any insight that a person could offer me.

i understand that obtaining work experience in the field as a novice, even with certifications, could mean low-paid help desk positions or really just whatever I could find and that, there really is no such thing as a "sure thing" in today's job market, but a person can make great money waiting tables in the right restaurant even part time, so a 12$/ hr position somewhere for a year or two is something I can manage if I know it's setting me up to take advantage of something greater in the future.