Job Outlook

krucial85krucial85 Member Posts: 84 ■■■□□□□□□□
I am an Army officer and I retire next year in January. Last year I passed the Security+ exam and last month I passed the SSCP exam. Next week I will take the CISSP exam. I have some experience in IT as I was in the System Engineering Development Program at EDS (1989-1991) and I worked in system administration and information security for The Associates (1995-2001). I have an A.S. in Computer Science, B.A. in Latin American Studies and an Executive MBA. Does anyone have any idea of the level of job that I can reasonably expect when going back into Information Security and a possible salary range?
"The way to succeed is never quit. That's it. But be really humble about it."

Comments

• mjsinhsvmjsinhsv Member Posts: 167
    Hard to answer that question without reading your resume.

I think the bottom of the scale for CISSP's is around 58k and goes up pass 100k depending on experience of course.
    Not a HR person but I think employers look at your last salary and then give you a small bump on that to see if you will jump at it.

I think employers are finally taking security seriously and ramping up hiring for all fields in security.
    The CISSP cert is worth its weight in gold right now.

If you are interested in staying in defense and working as a contractor , you won't have any problems finding a job.

Good luck and thanks for your service.
  • krucial85krucial85 Member Posts: 84 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Any idea of the defense companies that I might look at?
  • MrAgentMrAgent Member Posts: 1,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    This should probably be posted into the IT Jobs/Degrees section.
    If you are cleared, and have a CISSP, I am pretty certain you'll make a good salary, at least in the DC area, when you get out.
  • SephStormSephStorm Member Posts: 1,731 ■■■■■■■□□□
    I wouldn't hold your breath at any of the big Defense Contractors.