Coding or IT work?

slamwiseslamwise Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I'm a newbie trying to enter the tech world. I just passed my A+ exam, but after reading some disconcerting threads about the state of the IT market, I am unsure if I should go for the Network+ cert.

I would like to jump on the Virtual Reality bandwagon before it takes off (even though I need a job now). Do you recommend that I continue building up certs or should I learn coding languages?

As you can see, I'm fighting with the option of picking up a tech job quickly VS. potentially finding a coding job in the future. Any advice would be much appreciated! Thanks!

PS. If there are certs that might prove useful for virtual reality tech, please let me know.

Comments

• MagmadragoonMagmadragoon Member Posts: 172 ■■■□□□□□□□
    It depends on what you really want to do with life. If you are going towards Virtual Reality type of work realize that the market is quite new and few companies are working on that technology. If you are looking into that field I see that a lot of C++ programmers and 3D engineers are filling that need.
  • slamwiseslamwise Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for the response.

Do you know what kinds of positions are available for entry-level C++ programmers?
  • ccnpninjaccnpninja Member Posts: 1,010 ■■■□□□□□□□
    One does not exclude the other. You may find a job while learning a programming language in your spare time or when you come home. Besides, having a job provides you with a steady income.
    Don't wait for the opportunity to come. Work hard and it WILL come.
  • robSrobS Member Posts: 67 ■■□□□□□□□□
    There's also the emergence of infrastructure-as-code / software-defined-infrastructure which includes networking. You'll most likely see this under the very broad and sometimes ambiguous 'devops' banner. It may be worth looking at git and provisioning/management scripts such as chef/puppet.
  • varelgvarelg Banned Posts: 790