(Help) Buying Cheap Equipment For Lab.

jeromebladejeromeblade Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Masters, Help me to setup a Lab and what are the thing should i buy and how many dusty pc lol, im a real beginner give me the list of software too and drivers list. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• AlceoAlceo Member Posts: 80 ■■□□□□□□□□
    You only need a single machine with plenty o RAM.
    I' m using a custom PC i5/16GB/3 HD.
    If you prefer you can buy an old server from ebay, from example a Dell Poweredge 2950, they are pretty cheap. Just make sure to have at least 16 Gb of RAM.
    I would reccomend on the physical server to install VMware vSpehere (its' free).
    Inside it you can then install several Windows 2012 with the Hyper-V role enabled and then install virtual machines on them so you can do things like Live Migratione, Failover cluster of VM and other cool things, all with one single Physical server. It's pretty coolicon_cool.gif
  • XenomeowXenomeow Member Posts: 35 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Alceo wrote: »
    You only need a single machine with plenty o RAM.
    I' m using a custom PC i5/16GB/3 HD.
    If you prefer you can buy an old server from ebay, from example a Dell Poweredge 2950, they are pretty cheap. Just make sure to have at least 16 Gb of RAM.
    I would reccomend on the physical server to install VMware vSpehere (its' free).
    Inside it you can then install several Windows 2012 with the Hyper-V role enabled and then install virtual machines on them so you can do things like Live Migratione, Failover cluster of VM and other cool things, all with one single Physical server. It's pretty coolicon_cool.gif

While i do agree that Vmware is a much better hypervisor, installing it then having a VM running hyper-v and creating nested VM's can have its own set of problems. Seeing by there own post they are a "real beginner" it would be much easier to do a bare metal 2012r2 install with hyper-v. Nested VM's are a bit advanced.