Options

Preparing for the Hardware Test

Red Sox FanRed Sox Fan Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone...I'm new to this site. I'm working my way into the IT field and am preparing for my first cert-the A+. I made bad choice in selecting my schooling...I went to New Horizons. The "gentleman' who helped along my enrollment told me that I would fit in well. Well it turns out that all the 'students' were either out of work techs or employees of businesses who sent them to catch up on the latest...not to start a new career. When my teachers found out that I was paying for my education myself (meaning unemployment or my company wasn't paying for me), they all looked at me like, "kid, are you crazy????". I didn't like that. They almost felt sorry for me. All the teachers I had were great and knew what they were doing...but that place wasn't for me. So I started studying at home....I'm using Meyer's Passport book. How helpful do you guys think that book is? I love it. Anyone have any advice for a first timer?

Matt

Comments

• Options
    bighornsheepbighornsheep Member Posts: 1,506
    First of all, Welcome to TechExams.net, a GREAT place for anyone pursuing certification because of their passion and interests with computers and either in or hoping to be in the IT field. *hats off*

Sorry to hear about your academic experience, I hope that you'll finish your schooling successfully and leave with some pride because you learnt and you've put in effort! Cheer up!

A+ is a good choice for you and anyone wanting to get their feet wet, it will open the door to many opportunities with jobs and/or other certification.

Although I didnt use the Meyer's book for my A+, I am using the Network+ edition of it for my, well Network+ exam, lol....