Need help getting a job in Security operations entry level

cluelessITguycluelessITguy Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi people,

First post since joining this very informative site and i really need some help when it comes to guidance in what certification path to follow to obtain a job in security operations.

At the moment i work in general IT support level 1 for the past two years and hold certs in MSCA : Windows 7, Comptia A+ and Network + ( not alot) anyway there is going to be around 15 security operations jobs ( Level 1) opening up in a company near where i live in about 6 months time and i'm really interested in going for a job but feel i have no chance when it comes to certifications.

I am currently studying the Comptia Security + exam for the last 5 months and feel i am ready to take the exam, don't want to jump the gun but i really don't think that will cut it so i am prepared to study and get another cert before i apply for the job, which route do you think i should go after the security + guys ( fingers crossed i pass) it will have to be a cert i can obtain within a couple of months but i will also be planning to keep going long term with the security certifications.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated

Thanks in advance :)

Comments

• ramrunner800ramrunner800 Member Posts: 238
    I would recommend CEH. It certainly has its limitations, but it goes over well with recruiters, and helped me get a foot in the security door.
    Currently Studying For: GXPN
  • lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
    I would recommend CEH. It certainly has its limitations, but it goes over well with recruiters, and helped me get a foot in the security door.

I have to disagree on multiple levels but mainly for the fact that Security+ will be the easiest attainable security-related certification. C|EH is slightly harder than S+ so if OP is having issues already I wouldn't recommend going up a rung in the ladder.