Options

Kind of on the edge of finishing my degree vs not finishing it

JasionoJasiono Member Posts: 896 ■■■■□□□□□□
Not sure what I want to do here. I hate pulling loans for anything, I'm already $17k in school loans (by 1 provider) and it makes me uneasy, but I am thinking about finishing up my bachelors degree, and when things settle down a little more, make more money, I want to move on the the masters degree in information security and assurance.

One thing holding me back, well, 2 actually:

1. The loan, it would add about 3k more to it.
2. I got a job that requires a bachelors degree without a bachelors degree, all my certs and partial experience, alongside my personality got me this job, instantly (I knew within 5 hours that I got the job).

Why I want it:

1. I'm afraid that I will not get into a security role without it.
2. I am currently studying for the SSCP exam (I can get endorsed because I have a little over a year in 2 ISC2 domains).
3. Just to complete it so that it's not a sore on my resume, an empty slot, incomplete (to me it might make it seem as though I don't go through with things, no drive to finish, maybe a possible employer would see that as well?)

Is experience superior to degrees?

I attended WGU, and I know I could finish the rest of my program in 1 more semester (I just need to do CCNA, CCNA Security, Linux+ and Project+, and a couple other courses that aren't as big).

I have a lot of downtime at work in which I could finish up most of it.

Comments

• Options
    robSrobS Member Posts: 67 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Finish the degree if you can. The main thing it tells me is that you had the tenacity to complete it. Obviously affordability is an important consideration, as is likelyhood that you'll actually complete it.
  • Options
    LexluetharLexluethar Member Posts: 516
    Loans suck, but being turned down for a job because you don't have a bachelors sucks more.