What certs to go for after A+, N+, and Security+?

tjb122982tjb122982 Member Posts: 255 ■■■□□□□□□□
I am currently trying to decide how I am going to focus my non-working hours for the next 12-24 months. I should mention that I already have the A+, Network+, and Security+. Specifically, I am trying to decide between volunteering and going for more certifications. Let’s assume I am going for more certifications, I need to figure out what certifications I want to go for next. Right now, I am working as a full time hourly assistant for a Big Ten school helping running the computer labs. It’s a mixture of Windows and Linux computers. My office consists of me, the manager (my boss), two Windows admins, the Linux admin, and student workers. I am basically a glorified student worker. I take on more advanced and time consuming projects along with the simple stuff the (Windows so far) admins don’t have time for. With all of this being said, I think I may want to stay in higher education. Also I know the natural step would be to go for a systems admin role but all of the job postings I have seen tell me that I may not be ready. Right now I am thinking about going for the first level of Apple Cert and then the Linux+. Besides that, what can of MS certs should I look at? Right now I am really interested in Windows and Linux admin. I am also thinking about web and database development. i am more interested in web and database development but I don't know if I could get a job in those fields with a couple of years of desktop support and a low cert. I am really trying to decide between what would help me right now and what will help me down the road.

Comments

• NovaHaxNovaHax Member Posts: 502 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Linux+ will definitely offer more ROI than an Apple support cert.
  • H3||scr3amH3||scr3am Member Posts: 564 ■■■■□□□□□□