Options

Skill Erosion

joemc3joemc3 Member Posts: 141 ■■■□□□□□□□
I recently received my mcsa in windows 7 and I took the 786 course. This is an enterprise certification but I work the phones for at least a year to put that on my resume. I am brand new to IT.

So, I feel I will forget all of the material for the higher level stuff. Have others experienced this issue and did it affect you during a technical interview or how do you overcome it. I could continue to study the material but I need to move on to more certifications.

Comments

• Options
    Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I believe some loss is inevitable. If you continue to study it should build on the information you have even if it's a new topic. In the end you won't remember everything but you should be familiar enough with how it works to get the job done.

My suggestion would be not to over think it.
  • Options
    ChitownjediChitownjedi Member Posts: 578 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I've had to setup a weekly review reminder that covers 1-2 topics and gets through all the material i've covered thus far. When I actually stick to it (Which i haven't been able to yet so take this with a grain of salt) it would take 6 weekends to cover everything I have notes for when giving each topic an hour when broken up into certification spaces

So for instance..

This weekend - 70-680 70-686 topics 1 hour each to review
    Next Weekend CCNA I would give the full 2 hours to review all my notes
    The following Weekend- SCCM
    The Week After that- CCNA Security
    Week 5 - ITIL and 685
    Week 6- whatever else I needed to brush up on (902 and AD stuff)

Then rinse and repeat.

The main issue is.. TIME..
    Second issue- I'm always learning something else so you are taking time away from maximizing study time for something else

Tedious? Yes
    Practical? Probably not
    And Option? Definitely, if you find that its worth while to do.