CISSP study strategy for the next 3 months

papadocpapadoc Member Posts: 154
Hello all:

I've been in Infosec for the past 15 years handling technical security, forensics, legal, BCP/DR and vulnerability management. I've been managing staff for about 10 years, recently taking on more of a leadership role so I often view security now through the lens of "management." From looking over the 10 domains, I can say with much confidence that my weakest area is definitely crypto. I do have a network engineering background from many years ago so I would put that as one of my stronger areas next to the ones that I covered above.

I had purchased the materials a few years ago but never was really motivated to get the credentials. It seems that every security position I look at now either has the CISSP as REQUIRED or PREFERRED. While I interview very well and am often a cultural fit for many companies, I have a nagging feeling that not having the credentials is causing some rejections as hiring managers/HR are using it as an objective measurement of your skills, whether that's fair or not - be it as it may, it's the way HR screening is done.

So with that said, I have an aggressive 3 month plan for studying in front of me. I checked the Pearson VUE website and noticed that all of December is open with multiple test sites within 10-20 miles of my area. I am the type of person that tends to work better if there is a mental "deadline" set out there. So I am thinking of just scheduling the test for late December sometime this week.

Daily/Weekly Time Plan: